1965 Buick Riviera’s

Top of my ‘Classic American Car Wish List’ (I have many want lists) is a 1965 Buick Riviera. I first encountered one at the Wintersun Festival in Coolangatta a few years ago. I was strolling back to my car at the end of the day and there sat in front of me was the coolest car i’d seen all day. A matte green 65 Riviera. Absolutely slammed; laying frame on classic 5 spoke Halibrands and side pipes. It even had Mexican blankets on the seats. Such a cool car but unfortunately my camera had long since run out of battery so I don’t have any pictures of it.

It has to be a 65. While the 63 & 64 cars are a similar shape, the 65 has the coolest headlights ever fitted to a car.

I’ve already built the perfect car in my head. A black GS with red leather interior, a flathead V8 and slammed with Accuair eLevel suspension over some chrome Cragar 5 spokes and white walls. Similar to this but much lower.

Leave a comment